Tuesday, November 9, 2010

A Few Things You Should Know about Ankara, Turkey, and Bilkent


So I've learned a lot of things here, most of them are things I wouldn't even expected or even have thought about. I figured maybe my insight could help some people who are planning on coming here for travel or study. Don't get me wrong---I don't regret coming here, but I definitely wasn't completely prepared. Hopefully someone can learn from my stupidity and mishaps...

Ankara/Bilkent Stuff:
1. Bilkent is way out of the city center, but there are buses (SM & TM) that go to the main parts of Ankara so it's totally practical to live off campus.
2. Live of campus! It's worth the trouble. Get an emlak though (real estate agent)--be careful on who you get, but it saves you so much effort short term and long term. The dorms are pretty low quality and over priced!
3. You don't have to live in the Tunus area! Bacheli is cheaper and actually closer to school and has more to do (in my opinion).
4. Particle wise Ankara is like the most polluted city in history particle wise. Don't run outside in fall, especially winter!
5. Bilkent has a ton of mosquitos in fall
6. The Erasmus trips are overpriced! You can go if you really suck at planning though.
7. Erasmus is basically the exchange student drinking club.
8. Bilkent has a lot of hills and stairs.
9. The cafeteria Marmara is the cheapest at Bilkent, but the quality of food is quite low, but then and again so is all the food there.
10. If you live off campus use the water delivery service---way cheaper and easier.
11. Get Vodaphone and get the text messaging package deal if they still have it! Saves you soooooo much money! I went from spending like at least 15 lira a week to 15 lira a month.
12. THEY DO NOT REALLY SPEAK ENGLISH AT BILKENT!
13. You can leave Bilkent early for finals if you are an exchange student.
14. There is so much more than Puhu bar despite what ESN seems to think
15. Learn at least basic Turkish!!! At least the numbers and basic phrases.
16. EAP students: Turkish is required for you! ...and the book is reallllly useless. Invest in a good pocket dictionary.
17. Go to Kizilay for cheap shopping, food, and good authentic clubs--just try not to be there after dark unless you are with a group of people or some guys. Fights tend to break out and there is some pickpocketing.
18. Malls are overpriced. Go to the random little local shops.
19. AVOID REAL SHOPPING CENTER! It is close to Bilkent but very low quality and quite overpriced.
20. Bilkent is a "rich kid's private school"

Regarding Turkey: Life & Travel
1. Not all Turkish people use toilet paper. It's a religious thing...they use water instead which explains why using the left hand to eat is an abomination.
2. Turkey has the "whole in ground toilets" like Asia.
3. You can't flush toilet paper in Turkish toilets--you put it in a garbage can. (There are a few modern toilets here and there, but even if they look modern they usually aren't)
4. Turks smoke A LOT. ...ever heard the expression "You're smoking like a Turk" ?
5. Turkish food has a lot of oil
6. Turkish people and restaurants don't generally understand the concept of splitting meals
7. You pay for water at most restaurants...so you might as well just order ayran
8. You can't drink the water in Turkey.
9. You can always bargain for bus tickets here. You can pretty much bargain always and everywhere as long as you aren't in like a department store.
10. Buy bus/plane tickets wayyyyyyyyy before any bayram (Major Muslim Holiday) otherwise you will literally be stuck in the city you are in.
12. Do not wear shorts in Turkey! (If you are a girl) It's worse than wearing a low cut top.
(Even if you look good in them--you look ridiculous!)

13. You do NOT have to wear a headscarf in Turkey, but if you are a girl and you look very foreign (ie blonde hair) dress modest! (cleavage and legs are a no. Best bet stick to pants)
14. Try not to get trashed in Turkey. Especially the city you lived in. You are foreign---they will recognize you!
15. They tend to be racist against Asian people here.
16. Girls: Watch out for Turkish guys.... Especially those who are blonde
17. Bring poop pills--you're probably going to get sick at least once. (Avoid lahmecun from cheap places)
18. Fruit is cheap. Meat is kind of pricy.
19. NO YOU WILL NOT BE EATING KEBAB EVERYDAY! ...well if you do you are going to die of heart disease and spend a bunch of money.

20. Be prepared to get waken up by call to prayer and the "bread man."
21. Local bread stores are awesome.
22. Be super careful during ramadan---people are horrible drivers! In general don't even think about renting a car in Turkey unless you are like a professional driver.
23. BRING A POWER STRIP! The electricity in Turkey is sort of unreliable and tends to destroy appliances and batteries in the long run.
24. You can always book trips in Turkey last minute as long as it's not Bayram: no reservations or travel guides needed.
25. Be prepared to be late. Buses generally aren't on time.
26. Stay in hostels---they are fine.
27. Don't be a tourist--be a native.
28. It's fine for girls to travel here, but it's better if you don't go alone...but if you are going to like the Mediteranean or Istanbul alone is fine. Try not to go to the East alone if you are a female though.
29. Take night buses for the 8 hour+ trips! You aren't going to sleep well, but it's better than sitting on a bus all day bored.
30. You are going to see accidents in Turkey...especially during Ramadan. It pays to take more expensive/reputable bus companies for long trips that go through the mountains on ramadan.
31. There is like NO ASIAN FOOD HERE! ...bring your ramen with you if you are a fan. ...eat your sushi before hand.

MORE POSITIVE/USEFUL TIPS:
-Learn to love ayran and yogurt because it's cheap and it will get your stomach used to Turkey faster. Also it's the cureall for hangovers, or so I'm told...

-Learn some basic Turkish!
-Buy a pocket dictionary and lonely planet travel guide.
-Try the free lokum in candy stores

-Eat iskender--so good.

-Doner is reallllly cheap

-Go to Istanbul!

-Go to the Mediteranean!

-Try Turkish Coffee
-Learn to love chay
-Try mustard on your pizza! So good!
-Abba Piknik is super cheap and good! So is Hosta...

-Try Sahlep in winter...the cheap stuff won't cut it.
-Once you've seen Istanbul bazaar you've seen them all!
-If you're craving pig, McDonald's breakfast is NOT halal (contrary to popular belief) and has ham.
-GO TO MADO!
-Burger King Dondurma Kula is really good and really cheap!
-Eat Turkish Breakfast! .....especially when it's free!


RANDOM:
-Pasta means cake in Turkish
-Makarne is the word for pasta in Turkish, and it's pretty bad here.

ALSO: DO NOT GO TO KONYA! It is a horrible and boring city! ...Especially during Bayram!

Good Bus Companies That are Safe:
-Metro
-Pamukkale
-Kamil Koc
...in general all of them are fine though. Bargain for lower prices.


So that's my advice......I hope it helped.

No comments:

Post a Comment